Knitables

It’s time to get the needles out!

Someone once told me that I was an “old soul.” I don’t remember who said it, the context of the conversation or what I said in reply, but something about those two words hooked me. “Old Soul.”

I’m a crafter. Plain and simple.

I have quilted comforters and blankets from old clothes that I’ll never wear but keep around in the vain hope that someday I’ll have a need for them (it turns out, I did have a need for them! They make very nice blankets!). I make tchochkies out of beads and lanyards and, most of all, I knit and crochet constantly. I probably have more yarn than many people I know and eventually I’ll find a use for it all. I may have spent more money than necessary on yarn, needles and other accessories in my life so why do I love the -sometimes- tedious event of making a hat or scarf?

To be honest, I have no idea. But I love the outcome of making a scarf, hat, sweater or blanket. Something about the gratification keeps me coming back for more.

Knitting is in my blood: My mother knits and my grandmother used to knit. My Great Aunt used to knit cables while carrying on a conversation with someone or while watching the television.

The concept is simple enough: Knit 1, Purl 1. Though my arms might get tired, I can’t ever seem to get bored with what I’m doing. The anticipation for the outcome is too great to make me want to stop.

So I don’t.

One thought on “It’s time to get the needles out!

  1. Lovely blog! Knitting is in your blood – I wish it were in mine. One of the JMC profs did a paper on the primal roots of knitting (Heidi can’t remember her last name). Very interestiing stuff!

Leave a Reply

