Uncategorized

Let’s get ready to dye!!!

I just got my KnitPicks order in the mail! It contained two 100-gram hanks of ‘bare yarn’ for my kool-aid dying excursion. The 100 grams = 220 yards so I separated it into three sections. I know it’s more than 50 yards but I only had three color options in my cupboard. Grape, Cherry, and Orange.

My Bare yarn!

First off- I need a Swift This would have made the entire situation easier when it comes to unraveling my yarn. I literally spent over an hour and a half (or three and a half episodes of Sex and the City) trying to get all the knots worked out. Eventually I got it all separated into three sets and had them all soaking.

So I went downstairs and grabbed three somewhat dusty mason jars from the creepy space under the basement stairs and filled them with water. Then I put the two sets of un-sweetened kool-aid into the jars while my skeins of yarn soaked in the sink filled with luke-warm water.

100_1306

When I was satisfied with the concentration of kool-aid to water, I put the yarn in there. The color immediately soaked into the yarn and I was already impressed.

100_1307

So I put all three into the microwave and hit the ‘one minute’ button two times. When it was done, I checked it out

100_1310
My microwave...

I waited a few minutes, then put it back in the microwave and hit it for two minutes again. I left it again and hit the minutes again. After 3 zaps in the microwave, I pulled out the yarn and saw that the colors were completely dissolved into the yarn.

100_1313
The Cherry, Orange and Grape juices after I took out the yarn.

I then put each yarn into the sink with some laundry detergent to help work out the excess dye. After that I gently pressed out most of the water and put it on a plate covered with tons of paper towel to soak up the extra color. 100_1312

After letting the yarn sit on the paper towel for a while, I moved my creations into the bathroom and over the curtain rack. I turned on the fan and put an old towel under the dripping yarn. 100_1315

I’ve been in to check on it a couple times and the yarn should be dry by morning (hopefully) so I can ball it up and start knitting! I can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Let’s get ready to dye!!!

  1. That seems fairly involved. I’m assuming that this yarn you got was white, so what are you planning on doing with your kool aid colors?

  2. Yes the bare yarn (the first picture) is a white/bone colored yarn. I then used the kool-aid to make the awesome yarn you see at the end!

    It actually was incredibly easy to complete. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

