Knitables

Yet another Neckwarmer

I’ve been very busy at homework and whatnot so I haven’t had a chance to talk about this lovely neckwarmer!

I mentioned it a while back but I finally got a chance to finish it/wear it out.

I went out shopping during the summer and stopped at this little yarn boutique in my hometown. I don’t usually shop there but I was looking for something to do and I wasn’t looking to drive to either Oconomowoc or Milwaukee. So I stayed right where I was and I found this great wool.

It took me about an hour to make it through all the hiding places for yarn in this place. It also took me this long to find a yarn that was cheaper than what I’d find anywhere else (the prices are astronomical!) so when I found this yarn at 10 dollars a skein, I thought it was pretty decent and I picked out two colors that I thought went well- Turquoise and burnt orange.

At first I went with the intention of finding my Ravenclaw colors of Bronze and navy blue, but struck out yet again. I was still pretty happy with my choice and started working on it after it had been in the yarn-bucket for a while.

I started making a neckwarmer, because with my busy schedule, neckwarmers are super easy to put into my purse or backpack and carry around with me. I only needed one skein at a time because I knew I’d never have enough time to futz around with two skeins or make enough progress that I’d need two skeins…

Anyway-

So I cast on about 95 or 100 sts and started working. I debated for a while about making it the two solid colors, just switching to the other color when I was finished with one but then the thought of ‘what if one color is longer than the other?’ blah blah blah. I figured stripes would be a good compromise. And it was

This neckwarmer is so ridiculously warm and comfortable that I don’t even know I’m wearing it half the time. The colors work really well together and I enjoy the bunchy look it gives. Also, when I was cold while walking to the bus one day (and my hair was pulled back), it turned out to be a great tam.

I enjoyed the heck out of this design. It was my first striped item (with even stripes that is…) and I love the stark contrast it gives between it and my black jacket and mittens. The blue even helps bring out my eyes.

Needless to say, I gave myself a pat on the back for that one.

3 thoughts on “Yet another Neckwarmer

  1. I love neckwarmers/cowls. I think the trendy name now is the “infinity scarf,” since it goes in one big circle and never stops haha Either way, they’re delightfully warm, and easy to slip on – like you said! I really like the striping of the one you made. The colors do look pretty darn awesome together. Congratulations on another successful project!

Leave a Reply

