Uncategorized

Portland Tweed Tam

I’m already making stuff out of some of the beautiful yarns I bought in Seattle over Christmas.
I find a huge hankering to make hats and I told myself I would teach myself how to make a hat, a relatively complex hat too- that of cables and whatnot.
It didn’t turn out that way because I found that cables wouldn’t work that well with Tweed.

Anyway- I picked up two skeins of Portland Tweed while in Seattle and thought it would be a great way to start wearing Tweed. I had never worked with this textile so I thought it would be a great idea.

It was.

The tweed knit up so fast and beautifully into a Tam that I was done with it in one afternoon.

The pattern calls for a Fair Isle pattern but because I didn’t have another set of tweed in the same weight, I didn’t want to test it. Instead, I just knit through the pattern as if it was one color. It worked exactly the same.

Another change I made is that I kept with size 8 needles, because I wasn’t using more than one strand of yarn being carried over through the knitting, and size 8 was the gauge I had for the yarn. I didn’t want to cramp it onto tee tiny needles (The pattern calls for size 3 needles) so I kept it at 8. It fits slightly loose but it looks just as cute.

The lighting is kind of awful in this pictures but I thought I’d document it as soon as I finished!

Fair Isle Tam
From: VogueKnitting International Fall 2009
Yarn: Portland Tweed Colorway Red
Needles: Size 8 Bamboo straights and circulars.

Leave a Reply

