Knitables

Making baby stuff!!

I got a text from Cousin K saying ‘hey tell your mom she’s going to be a Great Aunt again!’

We immediately went into a frenzy of excitement at the amazing news. We then went into present thoughts and what colors to use (greens and yellows are good for the baby of unknown sex) and what we were going to knit/crochet for her.

I’ll admit, for family, I’m thinking big. I’m even going to hand-dye some bare yarn to a bright green/yellow/blue mix of my own loving. This requires some Merino Superwash bare yarn from Knitpicks, of course! I’m going to need five hanks I want to say for this project. I’m of the thought that hand-making a present is way better than going to Target. Sure they have the classic Pooh stuff but I prefer to make something that’s totally from the heart.

So I have these awesome delusions of grandeur. They include four projects. Most of which I haven’t ever made.

The Big Bad Baby Blanket. This pattern is from Stitch ‘n Bitch and I’ve wanted to make something like it for years. This time I’m actually going to make the real thing.

The Tomten Jacket. This pattern is going to be my first non-linear article of clothing. Elizabeth Zimmerman’s pattern is supposed to be super easy and I love those jackets on kids.

Booties. The cousin’s last baby was a big boy so I’m thinking of making a couple pairs in differing sizes depending on how easy they are.

A Cap. I’ve made beanies for my head but never for a baby. Not quite sure how the dimensions change/if it’ll need to be made completely on DPNs but I’m more than willing to give it a shot!

Mom is going to be crocheting a blanket she also made for the neighbor’s soon-to-be-joining-us grandchild. It’s yellow and has ducks on it. It’s super cute and Mom is so talented with crocheting that I’m sure she’ll be able to make this one in no time. Not sure if she’ll be using the same colors as me though…

Leave a Reply

