Knitables · Uncategorized

Oh just knit already!

So I’m trying to get rid of the monstrous stash I have (A SABLE, if you will (Stash Amassed Beyond Life Expectancy)), I find myself avoiding the projects previously on the needles. I’m also avoiding future projects, ones I know I should be making right now.

So instead of working on things for people that were supposed to be done months ago, I’m making hats. And scarves. And some more hats.

It dawned on me the other day: What the hell am I going to do with all these things? Sure I keep a few hats to wear regularly in the colder months (which lets face it, if it isn’t a Camogie game day in August, when is it not a colder month?) but do I really need 10 or more hats? Same with scarves. I stick to whatever is on the table by the door when I’m rushing out in the morning so the giant pile of scarves in my closet is woefully out of use.

But in all seriousness… Hats are SO EASY to make. So easy in fact, that I basically taught myself how to make one. From altering a Tam pattern from Vogue Knitting, I managed to make my own pattern which really isn’t saying something in terms of hats.

All a hat is, is knits.

If you think about it, you can make a garterstitch brim, which is knit stitch the whole way ’round and then switch to stockinette stitch- which is knit stitch all the way ’round. It’s THAT SIMPLE.

This stitch is so easy and so perfunctory that you can get into a groove, you can feel your way to the next stitch and successfully watch an episode of Big Brother while chatting with Mom about the vapid girls with their giant boobs and still manage to make something by the end of the night.

I also love making quick scarves with this school of thought:

Cast on 200 stitches and just knit. When you reach the end of your row, turn around and knit your way through again. It’s beautiful and you’ll be done in no time (unless you’re like me whose hands get tired after carrying around the weight of 200 stitches of Alpaca so you break a few times).

So please, readers, whoever and wherever you are, start knitting. Literally.

Leave a Reply

