Knitables

The Marine

T-Minus 16 hours until he’s home.

How many stitches do I have on the needles for the scarf he said he’d take with him to Afghanistan (it gets cold at night)? Zero

He’s all, “Don’t worry about it!” and, “Don’t stress yourself over it” to which I say, “Shutup you’re getting a scarf before you leave Wisconsin”

So I bought this really pretty Simply Soft in dark blue (I made a rookie mistake and didn’t double check with him before I bought blue instead of green, his favorite color. Somehow I didn’t think green would go with his desert camis… as if that’s really a deal breaker on a man wearing a scarf) and I’m going to hopefully get this bugger done in a week…or two. It’s super simple and garterstitch longways so 40 rows and I’ll be done.

Only got 5 hours of sleep last night from talking to him till midnight and I have to stay up until after midnight tonight to pick him up at the airport. In an effort to make myself a little more sane, I actually wrote a list of junk I need to do on my chalkboard on the door. It reads like this:

LAUNDRY!  Nails. Shower.

See my priorities? There’s no knitting on there… Even though I have more than 6 hours to get ready, I anticipate (for some reason) that doing a load of darks, fixing my sad manicure, and showering and making myself look pretty will take the entirety of that time…

Hopefully a few hours of Nurse Jackie will put me in the knitting mood.

In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been doing:

Anyone know if Tweed felts??

Crocheted ballet flats that still kind of need to be felted. I’ll get to the felting part tonight after the first load of laundry… Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

