Knitables

Did I seriously just do that?

So the Marine’s scarf is coming along nicely but I realized today that no matter how I spin it, I’m going to run out before I make it to the six feet line. So I’ve been frantically searching online and calling all the yarn shops in the area to no avail. No one had this yarn.

I went on Ravelry and did a simple search for yarns. I found the Cascade 220 page and found a link for sites that sell it. Score! I thought.

Four sites were listed. I checked 3 of them and didn’t find anything concerning the Superwash Paints. Finally, at Angelika’s Yarn Store, I found what I was looking for. The price is twice the amount that I’d pay in a store but, quite frankly, I didn’t care.

I also called the store in Seattle which I originally purchased the yarn seeing as how it was there to begin with so it must still be there. As luck would have it, they e-mailed me saying they had it in stock but in two different dyelots.

Shit.

I immediately ordered the two skeins from Angelika without thinking about dyelots– or thinking whatsoever… I don’t even know if my credit card number was typed correctly the postman was coming to pick up in 45 minutes. I for some reason thought 45 minutes meant 45 seconds so I ordered in a frenzy. I felt a high of adrenaline when I finished ordering.  

Of course, I don’t have the original label with me so I can’t tell the Fiber Gallery in Seattle that I need this specific dyelot and yes, please send it priority so I can get it by Tuesday at the latest. Then I’d have a couple more skeins of pretty green variegated yarn sitting around the house if one turns out to be right and the other ends up being so completely wrong. No harm, no foul, right?

So I’m sitting at work, my heart pounding at the insanely fast purchasing power I have and praying that mom gets home soon so she can find the label and tell me what dyelot I need so I can order it from Seattle.

Either way, I guess we’ll find out if my instincts were right when I get the packages in 2-3 business days.

Leave a Reply

