Knitables

Finally getting to it

It was a very long time ago that I hand-dyed my own yarn with kool aid using Knitpicks Bare Yarn.

I’m finally knitting with it.

If you’ll remember (if you don’t, which is OK, go ahead and read up on it here) I used three flavors- orange, cherry and grape. I got the least amount in the red and a little more in the orange and the most in the grape but I love the orange most- so much so that I didn’t want to knit anything unless it was totally worthy of the vibrant orange that the kool-aid managed to make.

Needless to say, I wouldn’t be writing about it if I didn’t have a use for it by now.

As many of you probably know, I’m kind of obsessed with making hats as of late. This is probably the single least flattering color on me, but it’s so darned pretty that I’m sure it’ll look great for someone who decides to buy it.

Also obviously, I won’t have enough yarn to finish this hat. If anyone cared to do the math, I didn’t dye the other hank of bare yarn. So when mom and I go grocery shopping today, I’ll be the one buying countless amounts of orange kool-aid. The cashier may look at us funny but if I get more yarn that looks like this, glare on, cashier. Glare on.

Leave a Reply

