Knitables

Start-itis

I got my bare yarn in the mail yesterday! I was impatient to the point where I almost went to the post office to pick up the package because they might have been holding onto it for two extra days (the post office is less than five minutes from my house… why would it take two extra days to ship?). So anyway. It came in the mail and I did a happy dance and immediately went for the kool aid.

I bought more cherry and grape kool aid for this purpose. So below is a picture-show of what I did.

Step one: Fill a large pot (or in my case, dutch oven) with lukewarm water.

I know that's a lot of soap. Mom's a nurse... what did you expect?

 Step Two: Fill the sink in lukewarm water and dip your yarn in the water. Let soak for 15 ish minutes.  

Step Three: For a full skein, I find that 6 packets of Kool Aid works best. You don’t need anything more than that. Six packets of Kool Aid go into the dutch oven. Turn on the stove to medium heat to heat the water up. DO NOT LET IT BOIL

Step Four: After your 15 minute soak and your water is hot to the touch, gently remove yarn from the soak-sink and squeeze out exess water. Then dip it into the water. Make sure all the yarn is submerged in the color otherwise you’ll end up with some pretty funky tie-dye. Use a wooden or plastic spoon if necessary to move the yarn and/or dye over the yarn.

Step Five: When you’re happy with the color saturation in the yarn, carefully pull your yarn out of the water and squeeze as much excess water as you’re comfortable taking out. Wrap in a towel and step on it to squeegie out as much water from the fiber as possible. Set aside and drain the water. With colors like red, you’ll still have some color in it. I let this yarn sit in the water for about 30 minutes (way longer than you should need) and I let it cool in the water to soak up as much as possible. This was still the amount of red left in the water. With Orange, you’ll get a cloudy look and with purple, you’ll find a lot of blue in the water.

I decided not to wash the yarn because, upon squeezing the yarn out of the dutch oven, the water was coming off the yarn clear so I knew that if I were to wash it, I wouldn’t lose any color. I’ll be washing the pieces to block them so no problem on color loss on your white clothes.

This is what your yarn looks like when still damp and ready to go to the swift/to dry.

I’m probably a terrible person to my wooden swift but I use to to aid in drying. If kept like the above picture, the yarn would take forever to dry and, quite frankly, I don’t have that kind of patience. I place the slightly damp yarn on my swift and unwravel it into a pile on the floor.

Then I tie one piece to the swift and spin very loosely and out to each of the sides so it can get air easier. I repeat the process with the other color and here’s what I get

I checked it this morning and it’s dry already. When it spread out like this, it dries a lot faster.

I’ll be winding it up when I get home and I may start knitting with it right away.

I know you’re all probably asking: What happened to the baby stuff for the soon-to-be second cousin? And what about Amy Pond? Well… The baby blanket is coming along very slowly and I’ll hopefully get the rest of the layette done after Christmas before the baby is born. Amy Pond hasn’t been getting a lot of action but I didn’t really do a lot of knitting yesterday. It’s not imperative that I get it done by a certain time so… This is me rationalizing.

Leave a Reply

