Knitables

Amy Pond is finally done

I’m not kidding.

Last night at approximately 11 p.m., I got out of the shower, stomped on the wet mass of yarn in the sink under a towel, placed it in the living room and left it alone, all night to dry.  By all night, I mean 7 hours since I was awake again at 6:30.

It’s still drying. This scarf is going to be the death of me.

I went to Stitch n Bitch on last night fully expecting to finish the sucker and block it as soon as I got home. I was two cables short. 32 rows was all I needed to finish it and by finish it I mean that I was so sick of looking at it and not seeing it grow that no matter what I was going to finish in 32 rows regardless of how not-Amy it looked. I got to about 28 rows after 2 hours so I didn’t have much more to do. I finished it when I got home, put it in the sink with super hot water and let it soak during a very long relaxing shower.

I then squeegied out as much water as possible into the sink and put it in a towel, wrapped in another towel, where I proceeded to step on the knitting to get the extra water out.

I then brought the mass of wet yarn into the living room (the largest room in my house) and laid it out on the floor and brought it out to its fullest extent.

I was completely amazed. The area rug you see under the scarf is a standard area rug of 7.5-8 feet. This scarf goes well beyond that. I decided I didn’t want a 10 foot scarf as this thing was only supposed to reach below my knees at most before the fringe. So I bunched it a bit– bringing the cables over the rest of the work so it wouldn’t look all holey. It brought the size down to right around the right length and I hope it springs back to life while drying.

I’m living off hope that I won’t have a 80-foot scarf when this is all said and done.

If all goes well, the 10 or so hours that I am away from my home should be ample time for it to dry– so long as the cat hasn’t attacked it by now.

I vow to never make another scarf of that magnitude again. And if I do (which no doubt will happen), I will block a swatch to see how much it grows… and it will not be made with Cascade 220 regular. Why did the superwash use less yarn for the same length??  

On another note: I suck at lace. More info to come.

I’ll be at Stitch n Bitch at the Caribou Coffee in Tosa tonight doing some much-needed Drop Spindling. Come visit if you’re in the area!

Leave a Reply

