Knitables · Spinnables

Spumoni

I’ve been cabling and knitting furiously for days what with not having a job and not much of a life. Here’s what I have to show for it:

Meet Spumoni! I wanted to make a cabled tam so I created this dude to be one of my super-slouchy tams that I can wear in the middle of a frigid winter with my hair up. I spun this yarn in two days and took a long time to decide what to do with it. I finally decided to knit a tam since it would be super colorful and it would be really warm.

I wanted this hat to be relatively slouchy but I was not expecting the level of slouch I received when this hat was finished. When I got to the beginning of the decreases, I didn’t realize the mass amount of decreasing necessary. It took about two hours to finish the hat and I was cheating at the end (k2tog two times instead of once).

The cabled rows were the most annoying as it would take me about 30 minutes and I never really noticed the cables until I was done with the hat. They’re non-descript which is nice because of the loud pop of color the hat gives. I played the rows by ear, only knitting three or four rows before starting the cabled row. This made a relatively tight cable and I really liked how it turned out.

So this is me at the end of a long day which included a giant batch of Spaghetti that made me wish I were cooking for a party, a finished cabled hat, a job which I turned down (a long story) and lots and lots of Cooking Channel.

Leave a Reply

