Knitables · Patterns

Amy Pond-The Pandorica Opens

It’s long overdue that I wrote the pattern for this scarf. Amy is seriously so beautiful and warm and awesome and about 30 other synonyms for how great this scarf is and people on the Doctor Who boards on Ravelry have been asking about it constantly so I wrote the pattern for this scarf.

I’m a huge Doctor who fan and, in the final two episodes of Series 5, Amy Pond was wearing this gorgeous and super long cabled scarf. After staring at the photo for days on end, I finally figure out the perfect cable for this scarf.  Amy was a labor of love but it’s so warm and really makes a statement when it’s done.

Hardware:

5 skeins Cascade 220 wool in cherry red. You can also use the superwash version but it costs more.  The yarn is held double in this pattern.

Size 11 needles

Stitch Markers- Optional

Terms:

C12F- Slip 6 stitches onto cable needle, place it away from your body. Knit 6 stitches. Knit 6 stitches from your cable needle.

C12B- Slip 6 stitches onto cable needle, bring toward your body. Knit 6 stitches. Knit 6 stitches from your cable needle.

10.6.12: UPDATED: I’m sorry all, but I’ve made the decision to start selling this pattern so you can purchase it for $3.99 on Ravelry.

Today features a day of pattern making so here’s the first one! I’ll have another posted this afternoon because I feel bad about not posting in so long!

GO PACKERS!

3 thoughts on “Amy Pond-The Pandorica Opens

  1. Hi! I’ve been using this pattern for about 3-4 weeks now and I’m about done 🙂 Mine isn’t as long as it says to be, because I’m so short. I do have a couple questions. When I lay it flat to dry, do I uncurl the border too? If the yarn I chose to use says its machine washable, is it better to machine or hand block? (I’ve never blocked anything before.) Also, one of my sections turned out more stretched out than the rest. I didn’t do anything different, it’s just more noticeable. Have you ever encountered this problem? Thank you 🙂 Megan

    1. I would uncurl the edges, yes. If its machine washable, I’d still lay it out flat after washing it. If you have a spot that’s a little more stretched, just block the rest out so it matches a bit closer. I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

