Knitables

Cream City Yarn

I may have found my new local yarn shop.

I heard about Cream City Yarn through Ravelry and was really excited because it’s not often there’s a new yarn shop in Wisconsin opening up and there are only two stores in my immediate area and one is so extremely out-priced that I never go there.

I attended on opening day because I had nothing better to do so I left the kittens and entered the address in my GPS and set out. After 20 minutes of being stuck in traffic, I found the place in the heart of Elm Grove right across a set of railroad tracks and it kind of snuck up on me.

Upon entering the lot, I realized it used to be a bank. There were people parked in the stalls and the only downer here was that parking in general was very unclear. I diagonally parked next to another car in general parking and hoped there wouldn’t be a problem while I was there.

Upon entering, I noticed that it was very bright and airy. There was a lot of diversity in the colors and fibers right away and I was impressed with the diversity of brands and types, rather than the generic stuff one sees at all the local stores.

I also expected the prices to be astronomical but they were amazing. They were extremely economical and it was actually quite surprising. They had a gigantic display dedicated to Cascade 220 in all colors of the rainbow and they had a lot of eco-friendly yarns that were also wallet-friendly.

After spending about 20 minutes in the store I picked up a skein of yellow Cascade 220 to mix with the Cascade 220 Quatro in yellow that I bought from Ruhama’s a while back. I also picked up a gorgeous skein of teal heather and gray Cascade Alpaca D’Oro and I’ll make something fair-isle-y with those two. These items together would usually be around 40 dollars through another store, but I spent about 25 dollars and left with a smile on my face.

Unfortunately I didn’t want to look creeper by taking pictures in the store and I was too busy networking to get my name and face in their heads for a job in a month to get any proper pictures, but it’s totally worth it and that just means that you need to visit Cream City Yarn yourself!

One thought on “Cream City Yarn

Leave a Reply

