Knitables

California girl

I woke up to a call at 4:30 a.m. on Sunday April 17. “Hey baby, I’m in Minneapolis”

Homecoming would be in a matter of hours, and I was too late for the 6 a.m. flight. I booked the flight, ran on adrenaline, showered and fixed everything up, chilled out and made it to Mitchell for my 11 a.m. flight. I had a layover of what was supposed to be less than an hour in Memphis so I hoped that he would be laid up and we might be able to make it around the same time.

The flight to Memphis meant that I had time to knit, but not enough yarn: Clapotis got rather well done, but I was finished with my knitting by half-way through the flight. I finished the 440th yard and put it back in my bag.

I got off the flight to a ton of text messages and a voicemail from The Marine saying he had landed and was on his way to Pendleton. I was crestfallen; I had missed homecoming and there was no way for me to get there in time. Then my flight got delayed by 10 minutes, then 20 minutes, then 30 minutes. I got pissed.

I made it to California to text messages from six different people. LAX is a huge airport and I had no idea where I was going. It took an hour to get a car and another hour to get to Camp Pendleton.

The Marine looked great when I finally saw him. I wished I had more energy to run into his arms and never let go but I settled for a giant hug and lots of kisses. It felt so good for him to be home and to be accessible.

The next three days were spent shopping and spending time together.

We had a nice dinner at his favorite eatery
We went to Joe's Crab Shack, where I stole a glass
We had a lunch date at Panera after he bought himself a new iPhone 4

After he got his new phone and after our lunch date, we went shopping for yarn! I bought two skeins of Manos Del Uruguay in a springtime color, two skeins of Mochi Plus in purples and greens and a size 10.5 ChiaGoo 60 inch circular needle. I’ve already cast on a scarf with the Manos and I’ve created a neckwarmer that’s currently blocking in the Mochi Plus.

Before our day was over, we had to get Justin a haircut. BUT Before we went over, he took me to another yarn shop I didn’t know about. This little place had “the needles you like” as he said, referring to the wall of Addi’s (of which I bought a size 7 circ) and some gorgeous Ella Rae yarn. I thought it was too sweet that he took me to a yarn shop to help feed my addiction.

We had a barbeque on the beach. It was freezing but romantic nonetheless!
Walking on the beach, I decided to get cliche
And, of course, I knit on the beach

We went to a movie one of the nights. It was truly terrible. On our way out, I pushed Justin into a photobooth. He went along with it like a champ and the photos are waiting for a frame at home.

He took me to a shooting range and I held and shot my first gun. It was a total rush and I couldn’t wait to do it again.

My cousin came out to California to visit her husband and we spent the afternoon together playing mini golf and drinking at Chilis.

She was so happy to see her hubby

And I loved the double date, especially since she and I are in Wisconsin full-time and our men are in California.

Leaving California was bittersweet and I cried through security. It hurt leaving him after only a week. It wasn’t enough time. I knit the entire day and finished a neckwarmer out of the Mochi Plus and size 7 Addis.

I came home to two kittens who appeared to have doubled in size. They were scared of me for about 10 minutes, then realized who I was and loved me again.

They were crazy loving up on me and then crashed promptly after

Upon coming home I started the job search again. It’s going well! I have interviews coming up for full time positions and I’ll hopefully be rolling in the money so I can make it out to California again soon!

Leave a Reply

