Knitables

A New Endeavor

So Boyfriend and I have a new way to spend our time together.

He’s turned me into a gamer. I’m turning him into a geocacher– slowly but surely.

I’ve been playing Magic: The Gathering since shortly after we started dating and I’ve become slightly obsessed with it. I got a starter pack and a bunch of 15-card boosters and soon I found that I had two giant decks and one mini deck that sits at home wallowing in self-pity waiting for more cards to make it the best speed scorch deck ever.

Most of you have no idea what I’m talking about and/or why I’m writing about Magic. So anyway!

The other day I found that my decks wouldn’t fit into the boxes that I got when I first started. I assumed this day would come but never dreamed it would be so soon. So I set to knitting a baggie.

This is what happened:

Isn’t he cute?

I knit it in an hour and I’ve been in love with it ever since. I’m finally knitting, I can sell these for a pretty penny and I’m finding them to be a GREAT stashbusting endeavor. The pouches fit up to 100 cards comfortably. My 75-card decks fit so nicely in these guys and I find them extremely charming in their simplicity. Boyfriend suggested I take them to Magic tournaments and show them off and I’d sell a ton. I can also sell them wholesale at comic book/gamer stores in town. I have to knit a lot more before I can do that, though!

Plus boyfriend wants one.

Here’s my problem with giving/selling Boyfriend one.

I really like him. He knows this so it’s not like it’s a surprise or anything. But I don’t want to enact the Curse.

By the Curse, I mean the Boyfriend Sweater Curse. You know what I’m talking about, I’m sure. However, I have a very special brand of the Curse. The Curse does not count against JUST sweaters for me. I can’t even make a hat without the dude running in the other direction (hence my call for help this past winter for hats to Afghanistan. Ahem.) I’ve had a gorgeous scarf that took two weeks and 800 yards of Superwash Paints yarn BURNED after I broke up with a guy.

Now I know that Boyfriend will appreciate the knitting and he’ll treasure it much more than these other guys will, but I like him far too much to put our relationship in jeopardy. He jokes about it so I’m not all that sure about how he really feels about the fact that I refuse to knit a small baggie that takes me an hour to complete, but my fear is what’s holding me back.

I polled the knit night ladies last night. They said, emphatically, NO. Obviously this is my choice to knit him anything and test fate and I’m sure he’ll be able to get one from me eventually, but I have to uphold my promise to the ladies that I wouldn’t knit anything for a man until we’d been dating for a year.

Leah then stated and told me to tell Boyfriend that, if he was really interested in them, that he should come to knit night and they would judge if he was knitworthy. I think I can speak for him and say that he is knitworthy, especially when it comes to an item as small as a Magic card pouch. I just keep telling him ‘one day’ and he keeps trying to find loop holes in the system (If he has someone else buy the pouch and then give it to him, it negates the curse…) and it becomes something we pick on one another over.

He just laughed in response to my text.

So what do you think? Will they sell? Do you know of anyone who would want to buy one? Prices are extremely reasonable:

$15 for basic.
$16-$20 on custom design, depending on yarn and coloring.
$20-$30 for Handspun yarn, depending on fiber content, only by request and only if I have it already spun.

All prices do not include shipping.

And yes, the DND Dice bags are on their way. I suppose these would work for the same purpose, but I want them to be a bit bigger. Prices to come!

One thought on “A New Endeavor

  1. I missed Knit Night, but NO! No, no, no, no! We can poke him with pointy sticks if he doesn’t believe us.

    One year, or a ring. That’s the only way.

Leave a Reply

