Knitables

80,000

I know it’s been two months since I last wrote– I’m terribly sorry about this. Life has been kind of crappy. My contract ended in January and I’ve been dealing with unemployment since then on top of my part time job. I’ve been, futilely, applying for jobs and trying to come to terms with the fact that dreams change and my next job may not be writing full time.

This idea really sucks. I don’t like thinking about it.

So I’ve been knitting to avoid it.

I knit a hat, another hat, a few cowls and I’m working on two blankets, one of which has a deadline.

Boyfriend’s Cousin is getting married in approximately 90 days and, rather than spending money on a present, I decided on Sunday that I would knit them a blanket with what I had in my stash. I cast on 500 stitches with the hopes that it would be big enough but realized that it would only be about 3.5 feet wide, which would not cover two adults in knitted warmth. So I cast on another 300 stitches.

Yes, ladies and gents: there’s 800 stitches on my needles. Stuffed doesn’t even begin to explain it.

I started with garter stitch with one strand held and was done with the first skein after about 10 rows. I then picked up a second skein and started in the round (on two 40 inch cables. Holy crap) and I’m about half way through the two skeins with four or five rows. I’m decreasing 4 times per row, meaning I have 200 rows until it’s done, making it 80,000 stitches about.

This blanket has a grey base and I’ve got three heathered colors to include stripes. I only have 5 skeins of grey to begin with (I have four more in the box just in case) and five skeins of the colors to include as small to big stripes. I have no idea what A&A’s color theme is, but I don’t really care as it’s going to be awesome when done– it’s also going to be at least 13 feet around, 5.5 feet across and soft and enormous. I would take a picture but right now it’s a mass of grey garter stitch. I’ll have something figured out in a few days. The stitches are currently smashed onto the 40 inch cable so I’m just going to keep decreasing in the hopes that it’ll fit more comfortably in a few days.

Boyfriend, in all his nerdy glory, figured out that it’ll be approximately 94 days if I knit for 60 minutes a day. At the rate I’m going, I’m knitting exclusively on this blanket for at least three hours a day and right now, it takes me approximately 50 minutes to knit a row.

I’ll let you know how things go in a few days. This should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

