CrossFit Games Knitalong · Knitables · Patterns

In Preparation

I started knitting a pair of gorgeous socks about six months ago.

The plan was that they’d be for me. I bought size 1 needles from knitpicks, had the yarn (ToshSock in Lapis, for anyone who cares) ready and cast on the toe and knit merrily along until I reached the heel, which was going to be an afterthought. I knit in the contrasting color and finished the rest of the sock’s body. I picked up the stitches for the heel and knit that. I kitchenered the heel together. I put the sock on.

It was too big.

And not an “it’ll shrink to fit” kind of too big but a too big that prompts boyfriend to slip it on his foot and not want to take it off because it fits him perfectly.

I was pissed. I knit these socks for ME! This yarn was expensive and I vowed to not knit socks for Boyfriend. Especially since these socks were made before the 1-year mark and thusly, would enact the curse I knew wouldn’t affect him because he loved me more than my neuroses over knitting, but still. I had standards to uphold.

The sock and its yarn went into the stash to be on time out until about a week ago when I dragged the gorgeous skein from the bin and decided I would finish the socks because why not? I couldn’t let Second Sock Syndrome take its affect for so long. That and I wanted to cast on a pair for myself so I had to make sure there was enough yarn for two pairs in this stash of 1.5 skeins.

So I had boyfriend try the sock on only to realize that it’s probably a bit too short. I ripped back the ribbing and knit in more stockinette before starting the ribbing, which I made twice as long as I usually make it and I even did a 2×2 ribbing, which I only reserve for my hats.

It took three days of knitting on-and-off during the nights to finish the sock. I took a picture and sent it to boyfriend.

His first words? “There’s a hole. Right in the middle.”

He was joking of course, because he knew the hole was for the heel and I hadn’t woven in the ends. But I still called him a jerk.

I started knitting the second sock so as to avoid a perpetual Second Sock Syndrome and I have gotten through two increases on the toe. My hope is that tomorrow I’ll be well on my way to a finished toe and/or body of the sock. I want these babies done before fall so he can have super-warm socks to wear when we go to a football game this winter.

Remember when I wasn’t a sock knitter?

I’m also working on an intarsia sweater… the one from Fall’s Interweave Knits, the Plowman Cardigan. Although I’m not totally sure I can actually call it the same thing because I’ve changed so much.

For one, I’m not knitting it in pieces. I think sweaters knit in pieces are stupid, so I don’t like to do it that way.

Two, I’m knitting it on size 6 needles and the stitch count is different. I had already cast on a cobblestone and been merrily knitting away with that when I petered out and decided I didn’t want to knit it anymore and put it away. I ripped back to the beginning of the stockinette and picked up all the stitches before doing a lot of calculating to make sure I could do it all correctly and I started knitting.

It’s been on hold for a while now as I can’t knit it at work because it’s not all yarn from work, and the intarsia means I have four balls of blue lying around the two skeins of grey I’m holding together. In other words, it’s a mess every time I knit.  I’m hoping to have it done by the time it really gets cold out, but you never know. It could be the sweater that never dies.

Finally, I ripped out the CF Games knitalong cowl. I realized I’d never wear it, so I tore it out and will do another project in the same timeframe in the near future. Probably only one color, though.

I hope everyone enjoys their long weekend and Labor Day. I’ll be working the whole weekend other than Monday where I will likely either be playing DnD with friends or knitting. I knit during DnD so I guess that shouldn’t be an “or” statement. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

