Knitables · Patterns · Randomly on a...

Four Years

Happy Birthday Blog,

Four years ago today I was sitting in my Blogging class with my newfound friends Anthony and Alicia and we started you. I was nervous. I knew I liked to write and I knew I liked to knit, but I never thought it would still be in action four years later.

It was a little rough at the beginning. The pictures were lax. They weren’t the best quality. I suppose they still aren’t. I’m working on that. I swear.

When we first started, I was not the knitter I am today. I knit chunky yarn. I knit scarves. I knit acrylic.

I had so much more time on my hands than I do now. I had drafts scheduled with you for weeks in advance. Now it’s a miracle if I blog twice a month.

Still. Today marks a huge deal for me.

You, Dear Blog, are my greatest achievement. You keep the spirit of my teacher, Leslie, alive. Her loss was traumatic to me and I miss her terribly, but I know she’s looking down on me with pride knowing her teaching and hard work has gone so far.

You help me reach out to become a better knitter. I get to experiment and share those experiences with you and the people who read you. I get to say I’m not a sock knitter with a picture of a knit sock. I get to share my love and passion for the two things I love most in this world and I’m so good at doing it. And that’s all through you.

I longed to make you the next Yarn Harlot. It’s OK that you’re not. I don’t have nearly as much laundry as Stephanie does. And that’s OK with me.

Life is not the same with you in my life. I take pictures of my knitting simply so I can share the experience with you and your readers. I wrote about having sock yarn in the stash simply because I knew it would prompt me to knit with it. I start projects knowing I’ll be held accountable for the project if I write about it.

You and me, blog. We’ve been through a lot. I’ve started other blogs but you were always the first. And you’ll always be mine.

Thank you, blog. This one’s for you.

 

Leave a Reply

