Knitables

Really, Really Cold

I’m sitting at my desk all day yesterday and I’m wearing a rather thin swing cardigan with pleather accents. I kept my honey cowl wrapped around my neck and my hair was pulled back in a pony tail. I was dressed for any other normal day.

That was until I started shivering.

The thermostat was adjusted slightly for the sake of my sanity; it is now pushing near 80 degrees and yet I am still shivering. I put my hat on my head and a jacket on as well before I finally started feeling some relief.

I walked to my old office and, I swear to you all, it was even colder.

My nose was actually cold.

What was this?

I wasn’t getting sick; the office is just seriously that cold on a regular basis.

So, when I left the office that day, I vowed to start knitting a sweater and, if possible, finish it tonight as well. Yes, I seriously think I’m that amazing of a knitter. 

I went to work out, got a good sweat and sore on, went to get dinner and finally got home, bounded upstairs and grabbed the skeins of Cascade Eco in dark navy that I still have from almost two years ago on my birthday. I pulled a needle from the basket (which, in my haste, wound up being the wrong needle) and I cast on the sweater around 7:45 p.m. last night.

I am adapting the Leaflet sweater from Knitty with the hopes that making it insanely simple will allow it to go faster. And I suppose it does.

By the time 11 p.m. rolled around, I had pulled the arm stitches off and started knitting stockinette back and forth. My left pinky finger had cramped around that time but I wasn’t about to let that stop me.

When I could no longer see straight (around 12:30), I headed to bed, saddened in the fact that I couldn’t get it done in time and I would freeze the next day. I told myself I’d knit whenever I had a chance to do so during the next days and I would have it done by the end of the week and I’d just bundle up for the most part for the rest of the week.

Today I donned the 1/2 sleeve original Leaflet with a 3/4 sleeve black shirt under it. I’m starting to feel the chill. But I have brought alpaca fingerless mitts and a hat and I’m still wearing my cowl.

Clearly, this means I need to do laundry to get my long sleeved shirts back.

Leave a Reply

