Knitables · Randomly on a...

My feet Are Cold

I’m kind of to the point where the winter sun makes me want to smack someone. I love the snow, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like dying whenever the sun comes out.

Last night I went to buy a new tea kettle. I needed to replace my adorable red kettle when the enamel started burning off in really ugly holes. I love drinking cocoa and hot cider and tea when Wisconsin gets super cold, so I needed to replace it. I had spent weeks… and I mean WEEKS… searching for a new kettle but I never loved any of them. Finally, when I knew I really wanted to make tea that night, I decided to make a decision.

Sur la Table had a cute, TARDIS blue tea kettle for $40 which is more than I wanted to spend, but it was available and I liked it and I could pick it up day-of. So I had them hold it for me. I seriously thought traffic wouldn’t  be terrible going west but it took twice as long as planned to get to Bayshore.

20 cents in the meter and I was in and out 10 minutes later with two burlap bags as well as the tea kettle.

I then stopped at CrossFit to get dinner at the Urban Caveman Food Truck. Finally I was able to go home. Needless to say, my feet were freezing from toddling around in boots and thin socks that were sweat through.

So I got home, realized my feet were gross, took off my socks and snuggled up on the couch with Boyfriend. When he touched my feet he realized they were freezing. I went upstairs to get my one and only pair of socks only to realize I felt the need to knit more. These were made when my feet were bigger so, when I lost the weight and my feet shrank, I find it hard now to walk in these socks as they’re not very tight and have a tendency to shift around a bit. Not comfy.

I have sock yarn, but I don’t want to knit something that’ll take forever. I want socks now. It’s cold now. If I made socks with sock yarn, I’ll be done in a month. I’m also listening to The Knitmore Girls Podcast and Jasmin has been talking about #operationsockdrawer for the longest time and it’s making me want to join her.

So I grabbed some sport weight yarn from a Christmas present years ago and two size 2 needles. My hope is to start them this weekend on my one and only day off this month. That’s only after I’ve finished cleaning the entire apartment and finishing this commission knitting.

Oh. Right. The Commission. I’m knitting two Gaptastic seed stitch cowls and one self-ruffling scarf for a woman who bought it all for her mother who no longer can knit. It’s cementing in my mind how boring seed stitch is, but it’s so easy to finish that it’s been about 5 hours and I’m half-done with the first one. I dropped a few stitches this morning but manged to pick them up with no issue so at least I’m good at some things.

I am really looking forward to having all of Saturday and half of Sunday off work, but I feel like it’s all going to go too quickly and I won’t get everything done. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

