Knitables · Patterns · Stashbust 2014

Catching Up

Another month- not a whole lot of knitting to account for.

I’ve been working on some different things. Mostly for other people but I’m finally getting into the knitting for myself.

I’ve finally found the time to start working on a commission I got two weeks ago from one of the amazing ladies at the store. She’s working on a Latte baby jacket, but because of a shoulder injury, can’t knit with the large needles and yarn so she asked me to finish the button band for her. I agreed, and work and life have finally slowed down enough to allow me the time to do it.

I’ve started a Gemini pullover out of The Fiber Company Acadia. It’s a really sweet tank with lace on both shoulders and one side, so it can be worn with the lace to the front or the back. It’s knitting up so fast and I can’t wait to wear it. I got six skeins of the Acadia in the hopes to make a different sweater, but landed on this one, knowing I could make the body a little longer if I wanted to, or I can lengthen the sleeves a bit. We’ll see. So far it just looks like a large mass of teal yarn.

I took a skein of self-striping yarn to Stitch n Pitch this past week and started some fingerless mitts. I got the skein from Jenny after she discovered five knots in the fiber. She emailed the dyer who promptly told her to throw the skein away and wait for the next one to come in the mail. She offered it to me and I gladly took it! The only problem is the colors bleed quite a bit so I’m worried when the time comes to wash the mitts. They might bleed all over the place, but a color catcher should fix that right up. The yarn is Desert Vista in colorway Dia de los Muertos. Even though there’s pink, I don’t mind it. The colors are vibrant and exuberant and will brighten up my fall wardrobe nicely.

Oh and I got a bobble head. Isn’t he cute?!

Things are still plugging away on the lap blanket for a special someone. I won’t go into details since I’m not sure if she reads this blog. All I will say is the Tosh chunky is done and I’m onto the Mission Falls Merino which is accenting the tosh really well.

I’ve been doing a lot of spring cleaning lately and it’s included consolidating and organizing my stash. I’ve managed to make some good headway into my stashbusting endeavor, so my minor purchases of the Acadia and the Michigan yarns haven’t impacted my stash all that much. I came to realize that I haven’t purchased anything more than 20 skeins all year. It’s been 6 months and I’ve only purchased six skeins of Acadia, five of Shepherds wool and a couple skeins of Tosh sport and some Malabrigo Rios. I’ve been doing really well!

Once the lap blanket for someone is done, I’m planning on starting a stash-throw, which will include a lot of wools that I haven’t managed to find a home for but will be able to ferret away into a striped blanket for the back of my couch. This will take me a while, but I know I’m going to love it.

I also want to start an OWLS sweater out of my stashed Cascade Eco. I have two skeins of beautiful blue yarn that have been a blanket already but I tore it out in favor of something else. I’m really looking forward to seeing what the sweater will turn into.

Another thing? I’ve put blogging on my schedule. No more of this once a month crap.

Leave a Reply

