Uncategorized

It’s Been a While

I know it’s been forever since I blogged last, and believe it or not I’ve had plenty of opportunities (a month ago) in which I could post, but I didn’t. And then I got a job. So I REALLY couldn’t. It’s now Friday night, I’ve avoiding eating dinner and doing laundry by just sitting on the couch with the AC set to its coldest setting trying to stay awake until 9 p.m. so I can not feel like a grandma who has to go to bed so soon. 

I’ve been doing some knitting, but it’s not super exciting…well not really…

So let’s go through and update you all on what I’ve been knitting. 

I finished the red boot socks for Boyfriend. He wore them the day after I finished them and when he took them off that night they were felted. Completely felted. Needless to say I was a little livid. Yes they were 100% wool but it was a tight knit and they should have lasted at least a little bit.

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.33.53 PM

A few days later, I went to Joann Fabrics and picked up about 7 million skeins of Paton’s Kroy and started a pair of socks for him knowing they were superwash and would wear like iron. How do I know? Because I have a pair of them too. I’ve been very slowly knitting the second sock, but I have a good pile of socks waiting in the wings to be finished, too. There’s a whole lot of potential in my apartment right now.

 Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.32.45 PMThere was, however, some surgery that needed to be done to his first sock. The toe was too tight, so I cut, ripped off the toe, picked up all the stitches and reknit the entire toe. It wasn’t too tough and I only lost a half stitch on either side, which is barely noticeable. The second sock was done properly and it looks perfect. 

I finished weaving in the ends of the ‘mist’ socks and they’re ready to be worn. They’re very cozy and lovely. They just took way too damn long to finish. 

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.34.14 PM Oh let’s see… I also had my hand at sewing a bit. While I was buying the massive stock of Patons, I came across the fat quarter pile and saw this super cute fabric and picked up a coordinating zipper and found a tutorial online to make a box bag that fits a simple pair of socks. For hand-sewing, I think I did pretty well. The only raw edges are on the zipper and each corner, but I’m going to work on that to remove all raw edges. 

 Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.32.27 PM    

I managed to put the puerperium cardigan to rest in his little bag and gave it to the mother who pulled it out of the bag with an outcry of ‘awwwwww!’ from all the ladies in the crowd. She loved both the sweater and the blanket (heavy blankets are her favorite) and I quickly realized that any registries in the future would be of little use to me in that family as it would be all kinds of crafty. 

The Baleshare cardigan is VERY slowly plugging along. Every now and then I get inspired to keep knitting it, make it about 15 rows and then put it down for a while. I’m also very confused by the math in this pattern. The sizing indicates I would need 2500 yards of worsted weight yarn to complete the project, so I got 5 whopping skeins of Fishermen’s wool. Then I finished the front left with one skein. Then I got within a few inches of the right armhole and I’m still in the middle of the second skein. By my indications, I’ll be cracked into the fourth skeins when I finish the sleeves, so unless I missing something, this pattern is going to give me a big skein of yarn leftover! I’m considering dying over the brown in the hopes that some color will seep in. It’s worth a shot. I don’t have a picture of it, because it’s a mess of stockinette and garter stitch. Eh. 

Finally, I’ve started an Aidez cardigan after I had a little too much fun at Stitches Midwest.Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.32.02 PM

Background? I went through Ravelry and was looking for sweaters to knit and I found…11,000 yards of yarn to make 8 sweaters and 1 shawl. I figured if I could get 2 sweaters worth, I’d be happy. So I did. 

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.31.44 PMI bought a skein of Miss Babs Yowza in Half-past Midnight (bottom right corner), a skein of Trust me I’m the Doctor from Three Irish Girls (bottom left corner) and a skein of Amy Pond from Vice yarn. I also got a bag of chunky and worsted weights from ValleyYarns at the WEBS Booth. I also got a little 6-oz bump of Knitty and Color in the colorway Fae. It’s GORGEOUS and I can’t wait to spin it up. My final splurge was the Mini Messenger bag from Namaste. I’ve been wearing it as a regular purse and I LOVE it. It was also 25% off. I’m in love. 

I immediately cast on the Aidez from the chunky light grey yarn and it’s been a struggle. For some reason my brain likes the quiet ease of miles of stockinette and, after a long day recruiting, I have no desire to cross cables apparently. However, that didn’t stop me and I’m finally through the back and the left front. I’ve made quite a few changes, too, but I’ll have a post totally dedicated to Aidez as soon as she’s done. Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 8.33.11 PM

That’s all. see you soon. 

2 thoughts on “It’s Been a While

  1. The only thing about the felted socks…at least they felted to the correct size as they were on his feet at the time. It’s not like you threw them in the washer and came out with baby socks 🙂

    Also, I need to knit more. I don’t know how I’m going to do that with a newborn and a 4 year old but, you know, it’ll work…

    1. My original post didn’t publish! It must have been a really long time since I’ve read your blog because WHAT?! You’ve had A BABY!?! CONGRATULATIONS! Finally, someone for Little Man to play with!

Leave a Reply

