Knitables · Randomly on a...

6 months…

*crickets*

Whelp. That happened.

I guess it’s been a while since I last posted anything, eh? Ironic that I’m writing this in the thick of the worst two months of history when it comes to things we have going on and work and no time off and I’m just exhausted and really need a day off.

So let’s do a quick recap of what’s happened over the last 6 months or so.

August: I got a job. It’s an official job and everything. Need a job? Let me know! I’m a recruiter now! After 6 months I think I know what I’m doing and it’s finally starting to pay off.

September: I had a good string of really great hair days and I made a lot of great food. Other than that, September was boring.

October: I looked super skinny in a TARDIS dress at the halloween party we go to at our friends’ Victorian home in Mt. Horeb.


I finished my Aidez and included buttons to the fronts.


It snowed the first official snow of the year.  My heat then came on, finally.

November: We went to the 10-year anniversary of The Matches’ first Album and had an amazing time. There was paleo Pie at Thanksgiving dinner and I did more knitting. I went to a black Friday and realized it was a dire mistake when it took me an hour to check out.

December: We put our Christmas tree up the week after Thanskgiving.

The green yarn is Tosh DK in Moorland. The stockings are made of Cascade 220 in various colors.

I got my very first skein of Lollipop yarns: It’s Carol of the Bells.


We drove to Chicago for the holiday party for work. We visited Millenium Bean and drank coffee.


I bought two super cute colors of Tosh Twist: Cindy Lou Who and Mistletoe. They’ll be a cowl next Christmastime.


December 21: Tim stood in the doorway to the bedroom while I walked toward a Doctor Who compendium book sitting on my side of the bed. “You’re ruining Christmas!” I proclaimed when I picked up the book and opened it up.

“So you wanna go on an adventure with me?” he said with a shit-eating grin on his face.

Obviously I said yes. There were tears that I couldn’t control. Parents were called that night. I texted my brother, “So…I’m engaged!” “About damned time. Congrats!”

 

January: A date was set.


A blanket for Fiance’s Sister was started


February: A Dress was found. Save the Dates went out. Engagement photos were taken. Bridesmaids shawls were decided upon and the yarn was purchased.


March: Bridesmaid Shawl #1 was started


Attended the shower for Fiance’s sister’s wedding. Mug rugs were given as a precursor gift.


April: Fiance attended Bachelor party for soon-to-be Brother-in-law. I stayed home and knit.
Blanket for Fiance’s sister completed over Easter weekend. Blanket was delivered and adored this past weekend after her wedding!

I finally decided what my shawl should look like and purchased the yarn from Cream City. 3 skeins of Cascade Heritage in Navy came home with me on a Monday afternoon and I started the Campside shawl from Alicia Plummer. I’ve since ripped it three times and have to be in a quiet area with no distractions so I can’t mess it up. It’s easy lace, I just can’t read it apparently. I am finally through the second chart (extended) and it’s going decently well… I’m trying not to jinx it, though.

I love this time of the wedding planning process; there’s virtually nothing to think about and all we have to do is make regular deposits into the joint account we have set up for the wedding fund. I made up some cute hangers for everyone.

We have candles and flowers set up; we have table runners being made. We have a hotel block set up. I visit my dress every once in a while. We have finished pre-marital counseling. It’s all good so far. I think people expect me to be freaking out all the time, but I’m just so chill right now I think it might be freaking people out.

May is so insane I can’t even think about it right now. We’re home from Fiance’s sisters’ wedding; we’re going to Green Bay to help his other sister and her husband move into her first home; we’re going to Minneapolis for the CrossFit Games Regionals (Badger Crossfit made it as a team!) We will only be home one weekend out of the whole month and we’re both working through it… so that’s fun.

One thought on “6 months…

  1. WOOOOOO!

    Also, jealous of a Victorian in Mt. Horrible (I mean, Mt. Horeb)…..I used to live next to a bunch of them where I grew up, just a scant 25 miles from Mt. Horeb (ish…maybe 30). Loved them….but they’re a bastard to heat in the winter. One of the things I love about living in California is that we don’t have to run the heat like mad for 6 months straight.

Leave a Reply

