Knitables

Wedding Planning!

The wedding is in 110 days!

We are moving in a pivotal part of the planning process, so I wanted to get more things done prior and just have them waiting for me to send them out when the time comes; this includes the invitations, getting the shower guest list to one of my bridesmaids, managing the hair and make up thing and just generally consulting the wedding binder as much as possible.

So far planning is going well; Fiance and I are going wedding band shopping this weekend, we just picked out our ceremony readings, I have 50 invitations printed and stuffed and addressed (by hand, after a fight with Fiance over labels or hand-written addresses. My hand still hurts). I’ve found my Somethings and I have a beautiful comb being made for my hair for the day of. I have to keep a lot of things secret, but Fiance has seen the shawls so it’s not a surprise to him.

And I made hangers for everyone! This is Fiance’s sisters’ hanger. This reminds me I need to make more for the guys too…

On the knitting front, I am tantalizingly close to being done with the Bridesmaids shawls and I’ve turned the corner on my own. I am two repeats away from finishing the third chart before moving onto the fourth and then I get to start the braided edging. I made a lot of progress over the weekend and just kept knitting when I had some downtime.

I think it looks like the night sky when you get into the first couple sections. This was taken at 5 eyelet rows, I’m currently done with 10. Yarn is Cascade Heritage in Navy.

I am done with two full bridesmaids shawls and about 1/3 done with the third. I’ve been really feeling into the wedding shawl, so I’m thinking I’ll keep working on that for a while and then will switch to the bridesmaids shawls when I’m pooped from the Campside. 110 days is a long time to finish two shawls so hopefully I can just keep cranking them out. I keep getting into a groove with the third chart so it’s flying by; I have two more eyelet rows and then it’s done and I can move onto the final chart.

When I finally decided on a pattern, this was just the beginning. It’s now pretty large and only half-done!

Finally, I cast on a blanket for one of Fiance’s cousins that is having a baby shower in mid July. I have about 5 balls of Lion Brand Thick & Quick in a natural cream sitting in my stash that I’m dying to get rid of, so I’m crocheting a simple square blanket for her. I got about halfway through the yarn in two nights about a week ago and then decided I really wanted to knit, so it’s been sitting in my bag since then.  I have until the 4th of July to finish it. No biggie.

Not much other knitting to report. My hope is to finish the third chart Monday night and then get the math correct to start the fourth by the end of the week.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Planning!

  1. The proper way to do invitations is to hand address them….as much as it sucks. I had addressed all of ours but I had printed return labels. I also hand addressed all the birth announcements for both kids. So, there’s that.

    1. I had printed return labels and the addresses on the RSVP card envelopes. I think it’s silly when people throw that envelope away. Whatever. I did it and fiancé then rubbed my wrist to feel better.

Leave a Reply

