Knitables

A 2015 Wrapup

I realized the other day that, on top of finishing a lot of things, I did a lot in 2015. I get a gratification by finishing things and I realized that it’s hard to quantify everything that I did in 2015 unless I write it down. So here we go.

I finished 17 projects in 2015, but really I finished 20 objects. I finished 3 blankets, 9 shawls/cowls/scarves, 5 hats/headbands, 2 pair of socks and 1 baby sweater.

Because I love the last two things I finished this year, here’s pictures of my Dovetail Wrap (ravelry link!) and my Simple Ribbed Hat.

I planned a wedding in which I knit five shawls and a pair of socks. This was definitely the highlight of my year. I would totally show you the pictures of the shawls, but I don’t technically have the rights to them yet because Husband and I have been so busy with everything that we haven’t sat down and looked at them. They’re on the list of favorites though! If you really want to see some that I’ve cheated on, go to my instagram or my Ravelry pages. They’re there.

In total, I knit and crocheted over 11,000 yards of yarn. That’s about 6 miles.

My knitting basket became much fuller this year, despite most of what I made going to other people. Out of all 16 projects, I kept 7. The others were gifts either for the wedding, other people’s weddings, baby showers, and the likes.

Now, onto 2016: My goals are similar: I want to finish as much as possible, work through my stash a lot and just make a lot of pretty things. First on the docket? I’m working on a blanket or two for a baby shower I’m attending in a couple weeks. No pictures in case she sneaks a look at the blog. Since it’s such a quick turnaround from the holiday, it’s on the knitting machine and it’ll be crocheted. I’ll post pictures in a couple weeks when she’s seen it.

I’m still working on the Bifrost scarf and I finished the second cake yesterday. Now it’s time to finish the blues and go into the purples! Since it’s a quick and easy garter stitch, I knit this when I don’t need to think about what I’m doing.


I’ve started a pair of socks for Mom that has been on in a project bag for about two years now with a pair of size 2 needles. It’s Lorna’s Laces Sport Weight in Packers colors. She bought it at Wisconsin Sheep and Wool in 2013 with the proviso that I knit her socks with it. So now I’m finally working on it. Ya know, just in time for the end of the season.

I’m also going to be starting a sweater this week. The Flax Light is a recently published sweater from TinCanKnits and my Shelridge Farms yarn from the Bridesmaids shawls is just screaming to become this sweater. I’ve already washed all the yarn and have just over 2500 yards. The pattern calls for 1700 so I think I’ll be good!

Finally, I want to start blogging more. I’ll be working on scheduling it better so I can get a post in at least once a week, probably more than that. My schedule now allows for a little bit of ‘sitting at the computer to write’ time, but it’s a matter of getting pictures off my phone and onto the page for a post to get published. You’d be surprised how that little extra step becomes a hard process. Eh. We’ll get there.

I hope everyone had a wonderful 2015 as well. I’m really looking forward to what 2016 can bring!

Leave a Reply

