Uncategorized

Mondays are Terrible

I have the hardest time getting up in the morning. It’s always been like this- I’ve never had an easy time getting up at 7 a.m. with an alarm or…at all. 7 a.m. is just too damn early.

Today was a tough day to leave the house and go to work. It’s gorgeous outside; the sun was shining right away and there’s just the hint of a breeze to bring in a little bit of coolness to an otherwise warm apartment. The sun blazes in the afternoon and heats the apartment like an oven. Have I mentioned that I like it cold? The windows were all open and we put a fan in the window last night. Anything to get the blankets used. Husband thinks I’m weird, but I have to have a blanket on me, even if it’s just covering my butt and nothing else, I have to have something on me.

It’s been a long while since I posted last- I’m having a really rough time in my professional life and I feel very out of luck when it comes to finding a good job where the people I work with respect me and don’t treat me like crap. Now I’m about to rant. I won’t rant. I promise. Bottom line is I think, if things go the way I think they’re going to go, it might be time I step out of the professional world and go to work for myself. Lindee Brauer would be proud.

On the knitting front? Lots going on! I’ve been knitting samples for my classes at Cream City Yarn. I finished an entrelac wrap, which was such an undertaking and took me forever to finish. I powered through on a drive up to Minnesota for the Family Easter weekend, and managed to finish it a few weekends later when I spent 10 hours over two days knitting non-stop. I may or may not have had a cramp after that.

12826005_245432832456990_351579807_n_medium2

Three skeins Cascade Tangier, size 9 needles, lots of patience.

I’m also working on a Clockwork shawl by Stephen West for another class at Cream City Yarn. This one is fun- it’s a lot of stitches and a lot of paying attention to where I need to increase, but otherwise I picked really pretty colors and it’s lovely.

12445830_849773658481554_70958646_n_medium2

One skein each Tosh Sock in Big Sur and Sweet Georgia Tough Love Sock in the beige color way, name of which eludes me right now.

I’m still working on the Bifrost scarf. You’ll recognize this from my wedding photos as it’s the project I had going twenty minutes before tying the knot (six months ago)! I’m almost done with it and can’t wait to wear it soon! I’m planning on grafting it so it’s a cowl, not a scarf. Scarves never stay up for me so I’m going to have to bite the bullet. There are two mistakes in this scarf, but I really don’t care.

image_medium2

I’m working, very slowly, on a pair of Turkish Bedsocks out of my own D4 Fingering yarn. This is color way Tradewinds and it’s knitting up beautifully. I am only through half of one right now but I can’t wait to have them both finished!

image_medium21

What’s up with Critical Sheep? LOTS! I’ve been posting to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Ello (still not sure how I feel about this network) daily with funny quips and pictures of the yarn colors. I’m running out of funnies, but I can’t wait to sit down with a pen and paper and create many more! I’m also working on creating a kit out of D4 Fingering for a beautiful rainbow cowl. I’m brainstorming the pattern and need to get supplies ready before creating a test knit but that’ll be in the shop within the next two months. It’ll be a lot of winding of mini-skeins, now called Tribbles, but in the meantime you can still get skeins on my Etsy shop!

In the meantime, here’s one of my favorite posts for Monday. It sums up the feelings I have for the day pretty well.

image_medium23

Leave a Reply

