Knitables · Randomly on a...

Gee. Whillikers.

Is that how you spell that? Oh well. I’m not concerned. I’m just trying to write something that sounds like it would go on this blog. Really I’m just using this blog as a way to write for 10 minutes without stopping and just writing the things that come out of my fingertips. It’ll probably be about knitting, but likely it’ll be about what I ate in a day and if I worked out… Think of it as a mashup between On Skeins and Needles and KnitEatLift. I can’t keep up with one blog, so two is not going to happen!

I’m barely knitting lately. I have been trying to figure out what to make or get for my friends for Christmas and I am completely stumped. Do I make them fingerless mitts that they can wear while driving? Meh. Do I make candles so they can think of me whenever they burn them? That requires me driving downtown to get the supplies. Meh again. Do I get them gift cards because I feel like they aren’t going to like anything I made them anyway? Bad idea. sigh. I don’t know. Knowing me, I’ll end up cobbling something together at midnight the day before we’re supposed to get together and I’ll call it good.

It is currently very cold in my apartment. I’m sitting in the office with no music or sound around me but the sound of the typing keys. I know I should get up and make some lunch but something about the whole ‘stay on your ass for 10 minutes’ thing is keeping me here.

I switched gyms about 6 months ago and I’m very happy with the results I’ve had; only problem is my body is fighting me to lose weight. I eat healthy- only 2 cheat meals per week and I eat clean. I don’t consume dairy or gluten (unless it’s part of said cheat meal) and I drink water when I’m not drinking coffee in the morning.

Hang on… siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiip here lies medical crap…skip if not interested.

Yet the weight still won’t come off. I know it’s because I battle with PCOS and insulin resistance and a whole host of other things, but I didn’t know how to fix it myself, let alone naturally and without harsh chemicals that will make me feel sick and not happy with my body. So I found myself a naturopath; this is also after my mother tried to talk me into seeing an endocrinologist. I didn’t want to see any old doctor who would tell me the same thing that I’ve been hearing for years, so I found a naturopath who would look at me as a person, and my whole body, not just my uterus. She spent 90 minutes asking me question after question and I left, exhausted yet hopeful, that this new plan would be helpful to me. I now take 26 pills per day. I feel like a geriatric who needs one of those giant pill cases, but I like to think it’s starting to work. While I’m not down much weight (I think the last time I checked I was down 1.5 pounds), my energy is up and my digestion is much better. I see the doctor in about 20 days and she wanted me to be down 20 pounds by then. Don’t worry, my appointment was at the beginning of the month.

I don’t need to hear that ‘slow weight loss is good weight loss’ and all that BS. I have 100 pounds to lose, get off my back and let me stay positive about this!  

Alright. done with the medical stuff!

The Workouts!

I just finished with workout number two of the week; I’ve been down with a cold for most of the past 7 days, so I’m very sore now and very much looking forward to my shower this afternoon. So here’s my WODs in a week:

Monday, December 5:
I was laid up sick for most of the day but still wanted to move around so I did some rebounding for about 15 minutes. This always makes my calves burn like the dickens but I am noticing that the strength of my legs is much better and I always feel better when I step off the trampoline.

Wednesday, December 7:
Strength: Snatch 5-3-1 up to 95%. I guess I’ve never written it down but I think I PRed my Snatch: Went up to 85 pounds and it was easy!
WOD:
AMRAP 4 minutes pull ups (I did ring rows) (75)
rest 2 minutes
AMRAP 4 minutes Burpee box jumps (25)
rest 2 minutes
AMRAP 4 minutes dumbbell snatch (55)

Goodbye shoulders! I woke up this morning with lots of soreness; posterior chain, traps, those long muscles between my shoulder blades. My shoulders were pretty shot too. I knew that working out today would be rough, but that my recovery would probably be better once I worked out again. It’s weird how things work like that.

Thursday, December 8
I went to the sister affiliate today to hang out with the owner and my favorite coach, Maggie. She and I are very alike in manner and we get along so well! Naturally, I showed up 15 minutes late because I can’t read a schedule. Did a quick warmup, and was ready to go with everyone else!
Strength: Push Jerk: 5-3-1 up to 95% of 1RM. I did 85, 105 and 115. The 115 was a little rough and I had to fight it up, but it worked! It’s also a 3RM PR, so that’s even better!
WOD:
AMRAP 8
3 HSPU (I used a box, like I always do… getting better at this though!)
3, 6, 9, 12… Cleans, increasing the number of cleans each round.
I did 85#; it was tough, I don’t think I’ve ever done a workout with that much weight on the bar, but I was able to keep moving with it and that’s what mattered to me. I finished with 52 cleans, so halfway through the round of 15.

It was quick and dirty- and I liked it. I work all weekend slinging the yarn, but I’m looking forward to going three times next week before heading off to vacation in Vancouver for a week with the Hubs, brotherman and Mamabear! We will be hitting up three gyms (hopefully) and I can’t wait to workout with my man again!

What I ate this week:
Usually we plan our weeks really well, prep food and put it in the freezer and I make the magic happen during the day, but we have totally fallen off the wagon with that regard. We didn’t even eat a single thing that was on the menu board from last week, so we decided to do it over this week.

Monday: I had to make a weird concession Monday because I was doing a hormone test panel and couldn’t consume garlic, onions, coffee (I quarantined myself so no one died) and a whole host of other things. I was also sick. I ate eggs and bacon for breakfast, soup for lunch and sliders and fruit for dinner. Dessert was NyQuil and sleep.

Tuesday: Breakfast again was eggs and bacon, Lunch was leftover chicken and sweet potatoes, Dinner was shredded buffalo Chicken and sweet potato fries.

Wednesday: Breakfast was two hard-boiled eggs with salt, a banana and an apple, lunch was a subway flatbread sandwich that was more vegetables than anything else, dinner was chili that hubs and I threw together in 20 minutes after church.

Thursday: Breakfast was leftover shredded buffalo chicken and triscuits. Lunch was a salad kit from Fresh Express, with thousand island dressing instead of the dressing packet they put in the kit. Dinner is unsure, as we will be out caroling and then attending a party afterward. Very likely to be a meat of some sort and fruit and veg. I’ll keep it simple.

Friday: Tomorrow I plan to eat a 3-egg scrambled with Franks Red Hot, 4 slices of bacon, strawberries and a banana for breakfast. Lunch will be another salad kit, again trading the dressing out. Dinner will be a chuck roast that will shred up nicely to make tacos in sprouted grain wraps with shredded goat cheese and hot sauce. Yum.

It’s snowing out, my 10 minutes are way over and I’m starved for lunch. Hope you all have a wonderful rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

