Weight Loss

Two Little Pounds

I got into the elevator with hubs this morning on our way to breakfast and thought about how I’m super close to the weight I was when I started my CrossFit and Paleo journey all those years ago. I wondered how different I looked today than I did then, because my life is so much different and everything I’m doing to lose this weight is different than what I did in 2012. I started Paleo and it was a shock to my system, so I lost the weight really quickly. This time around, It’s taken 8 months and I’m still working on getting that first 50 pounds out of 90 or so that I want to lose. Logically I know weight distributes itself in different ways when you lose it or gain it, so I know that I won’t be the same, but I was excited nonetheless to find a picture that I could use as a comparison. I chose the original weight loss image and paired it with a picture from a couple weeks ago when I hit that blessed 40 pound lost mark.

Admittedly, that’s a poofy shirt on the right, but I filled it out pretty significantly, if memory serves. I threw that shirt out a few years ago, too. I did NOT want to look like that again!

I feel it is very important to show this comparison to prove how important it is to fuel your body properly and get exercise and how, while we focus so hard on the number the scale displays, the way we treat our bodies is so important to make that number mean something. The picture on the left is from 2012 or so and I was 234 pounds. The picture on the right is from a couple weeks ago when I hit 236 pounds. Two pounds heavier and look how different I am today.

In 2012 I ate like shit and claimed I was healthy. Today I eat super clean and work out regularly. In 2012 I did virtually nothing to help myself lose weight and claimed it was hopeless. Today I know if I eat right, treat my body well and exercise, I will see results. It’s amazing how different things look when you see them side by side. I learned that food is medicine and the food you put into your body serves different purposes- if you put shit in your body, you’re not going to get any good results.

I may not be my goal weight yet, but I am damn proud of the number on the scale this morning and am going to take a moment to be really fricken proud of myself. I’ve worked hard and put a lot of money, time, effort and thought into my health and my journey. I am going to allow myself to gloat a bit and say that, regardless of the high BMI or whatever standard western medicine tries to shove on me, I am happy with my health at this moment. And I will be for the next 50 pounds. I can’t wait to continue this journey.

One thought on “Two Little Pounds

  1. GO YOU!

    I have been working on the weight loss since my second child was about 6 months old (he’ll be 3 in September). I started out around 277 lbs and I’m hanging out around 225 right now (I was down to 211 but then Husband had surgery and things went to hell for a bit…it is what it is). I am not 100% clean eating because, really, chocolate is my go-to when I have PMS or I’m stressed out….but my biggest issue was portion control and not hauling myself to the gym on a regular basis. So, there’s that 🙂

Leave a Reply

