Uncategorized

I Had Hope

I’m creeping on the 660th yard of yarn on the Clapotis and it’s still not long enough.

At least I’ll be able to go to Knit Night with the ladies and tell them I did indeed make progress on it.

This weekend is Stitches Midwest. A bunch of us will be piling into Jenny’s Prius and driving down to Shaumburg. I’ll be doing an applied i-cord edging for the entire drive. I’ll explain later.

I finished a pair of socks, and I’ve cast on the second green sock. It’s extremely slow going, mostly because I have other projects to do and I also just don’t want to knit the sock. This is why I don’t usually knit socks. There’s 2 of them.

Leah gave me the  2007 issue of Interweave with the Cobblestone Sweater pattern. I’m hoping to get the yarn for it at stitches, otherwise it’ll just be an acrylic buy from Joann’s. There’s also about 10 other patterns I really want to copy from the magazine so I guess I’ll be all kinds of ready for winter this year.

I’m putting off buying the TARDIS yarn for another week. I was supposed to get it next week but I kind of have all kinds of bills to pay and my checking account is still doing pretty poorly thanks to my accidental falling on the credit machine buying yarn so I’m planning on buying it after my next paycheck. I’m also working on getting better at steeking. I did it the other day at Stitch n Bitch and it worked out pretty well. I’ll be knitting up a colorwork swatch and giving it a shot since I’ll have to do a striped steek to allow for less floating and less ends to weave in.  I also need to find a quality printer for the pattern so I can make it very well-colored.

I’m drinking coffee today in the vain hopes that it’ll help this evil migraine that decided to visit me upon waking up this morning. It’s going to be a long day.

2 thoughts on “I Had Hope

  1. Ah, Stitches Midwest. My surrogate mom, Little Man, and I are piling into my Tiguan tomorrow morning and heading down to Schaumburg from Madison. Since I’m driving, I don’t expect to get any knitting done but that’s okay. I might bring it just for posterity (or something).

    I have hopes of Signature needles (yes, I know how expensive they are) and yarn and fiber and more yarn and fiber. I don’t really have a “plan” in mind, though. Perhaps I should take a look at my ravelry queue and see what I’ll be needing for some projects 🙂

    Hope to see you there (though, since I have only a vague idea of what you look like, and you have no idea what I look like, this could be problematic).

    1. I would LOVE to meet a reader! You could always just yell out ‘where’s the girl who write onskeinsandneedles!?’ and I’ll totally come running! Or you can try to find the girl buying sweaters-worths of yarn at a time.
      I’m planning on wearing an eggplant purple cardigan if that’ll help! Too bad I’m not like Jasmin Knitmore with bright pink hair but…
      Hope to see you there!!!

Leave a comment